Sundo, IMAGO

I’m not the best person to ask about contemporary OPM of any genre. However I do know I good band when I see one, and the songs of IMAGO are one of the nicest songs I’ve heard. WEll this one’s not so new, it goes a few years back, but i really adore the lyrics. very sweet and melancholic. Perfect for the faint of heart. It basically speaks about singer willing to look for and fetch the person from his sadness, and patch him up new.

Sundo

by imago

Kay tagal kong sinusuyod
Ang buong mundo
Para hanapin,
Para hanapin ka
Nilibot ang distrito
Ng iyong lumbay
Pupulutin, pupulutin ka

It’s been a long time that I’ve been searching
the entire world
Just to look for
Just to look for you
I’ve wandered down the district of your loneliness
To pick you, To pick you up

Sinusundo kita,
Sinusundo…

I’m fetching you*
I’m fetching…

Asahan mo(Asahan mo) mula ngayon
Pag-ibig ko’y sayo
Asahan mo (Asahan mo) mula ngayon
Pag-ibig ko’y sayo

Trust it (Trust it) from now on
My love is yours
Trust it (Trust it) from now on
My love is yours

Sa akin mo isabit
Ang pangarap mo
Di kukulangin
Ang ibibigay

Hang your dreams upon me
What I’ll give you will be be enough

Isuko ang kaba
Tuluyan kang bumitaw
Ika’y manalig
Manalig ka..

Give up your doubts
And continue to let go
Trust in me
Trust…

Sinusundo kita//I’m fetching you
Sinusundo… // fetching…

Asahan mo (Asahan mo) mula ngayon
Pag-ibig ko’y sayo
Asahan mo (asahan mo) mula ngayon
Pag-ibig ko’y sayo (repeat 2x)

Expect it (Expect it) from now on
My love is yours
Expect it (Expect it) from now on
My love is yours (repeat 2x)

(Asahan mo) //Trust it

Handa na sa liwanag mo
Sinuyod** ang buong mundo
Maghihintay sayo’ng sundo (repeat 3x)

Ready for your light
I’ve searched the whole world
Waiting for you to fetch me (repeat 3x)

*Fetch-Sundo. Although “sundo” has more abstract connotations of waiting for someone (a family member, a mom, a dad, a lover) and bringing the said person to be fetched home.

**sinuyod is a term used with reference to the fine-toothed comb used to search for lice in the hair. It means a careful and painstaking search.

Lyrics from http://www.lyricsmode.com/lyrics/i/imago/sundo.html

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Sundo, IMAGO”

  1. mika Says:

    I love this song.. it’s kind of sad, though. But it’s a beautiful one.

    Cool site! More beautiful songs to come!

  2. Ivan Says:

    Wow. I love this song so much that it never left my playlist ever since it first came out. I never got tired listening to it. And all the while, I was so confused as to what the song really meant. Now I know better. Thank you so much for the HIMSAL of Sundo.🙂

Leave a Reply

